The Ku Klux Klan is a white supremacist group, well known for their hatred and oppression of black people. Well this 58 year old black man, Daryl Davis, has been on his own mission since the 1980s to befriend white supremacists and throughout the years .. he’s gotten over 200 white supremacists to give up the KKK.

Daryl Davis is a blues musician and he is also an author. Since the early years of the 1980s, he’s adventured throughout the USA to befriend KKK members. The KKK has been a white supremacy cult since it originated in 1865. The KKK’s mission is to ‘purify’ America by ‘cleansing’ it of any race other than white.

Daryl Davis is no stranger to the danger and he has been confronting the hatred ideology of the KKK for decades. Davis even wrote a book about the KKK members he has encountered throughout the year, learn more about the book here.

Here’s an excerpt from another report:
Daryl, from Chicago, has also found time for a celebrated music career in R&B and blues, playing alongside the likes of Jerry Lee Lewis, Chuck Berry and former President Bill Clinton, and he counted the legendary Muddy Waters among his friends.
Daryl said: ‘Music absolutely played a massive role in bridging many gaps in the racial divides I would encounter. Once when I was performing in a predominantly white venue, a white man approached me on my break and put his arm around me and exclaimed, “This is the first time I’ve ever heard a black man play piano like Jerry Lee Lewis.”
‘He was curious and wanted to learn more about me. It was then revealed to me by him that he was a member of the Ku Klux Klan. Over time, he and I became good friends. He ended up leaving the KKK.’
Throughout the years, Daryl Davis has obviously ran into some unwanted trouble with the KKK. Despite the fact Daryl doesn’t ever want any of the situations to turn violent, he’s always been prepared for it — just in case!

“There have been some incidents in which I was threatened and a couple of instances where I had to physically fight. Fortunately, I won in both instances.

These things happen from time to time, but it is to be expected, because you are dealing with someone who hates you and wants to be violent just because of the colour of your skin.

Some of them are absolutely repulsed when they see a black person and want to hurt that person. At the core of it, although they won’t at first admit it, they express superiority, but truly feel inferiority and in order to elevate themselves, they have to push someone else down.”

-Daryl Davis

A meeting that could have ended up in violence was when Daryl met a Grand Dragon, a rank in the KKK, in Maryland, a man called Roger Kelly. One time Daryl Davis met with a ‘Grand Dragon’ of the Ku Klux Klan, named Roger Kelly. Someone that knew the KKK Grand Dragon, Roger Kelly, very well warned Daryl that Roger might try to kill him. Daryl said “I was very well prepared for the meeting in terms of knowledge of my topic. I have just about every book written on the Klan and I’ve read them all. In fact, I know more about the KKK than most Klan members know about their own organization. Knowledge, information, wit, and the way you disseminate these attributes can often prove to be a more disarming weapon against an enemy or some with whom your ideology is in conflict, than violence or lethal weapons. I was heavily armed with those attributes. I had been told by someone who knew him very well, that Roger Kelly would kill me. I felt confident without any physical weapon that I would prevail. Fortunately, I proved it true.”

Daryl also noted that he was so successful in that instance that it eventually led to the downfall of the KKK in Maryland. The KKK group in Maryland is now [basically] nonexistent.

… he [Daryl Davis] was so successful in his prevailing that the KKK ‘branch’ in Maryland is now non-existent, with perhaps four people turning up for a meeting ‘and two of them are drunk’.

Here’s an excerpt from another article:

He [Daryl Davis] said: ‘It’s a wonderful thing when you see a light bulb pop on in their heads or they call you and tell you they are quitting.

‘I never set out to convert anyone in the Klan. I just set out to get an answer to my question: “How can you hate me when you don’t even know me?”

‘I simply gave them a chance to get to know me and treat them the way I want to be treated. They come to their own conclusion that this ideology is no longer for them. I am often the impetus for coming to that conclusion and I’m very happy that some positivity has come out of my meetings and friendships with them.

Daryl traveled a lot as a child as his parents served with the American Foreign Service, and he said it was that experience of different cultures that helped him see just how alien the idea of racism is..

Read the entire article here.

 thepatriotic.jpgThank you for your support!
